Wednesday, April 12, 2017

{baby d 2.0}: week thirty and thirty one

30 weeks
Feeling: starting to feel really pregnant! Still getting braxton Hicks when I'm walking, which aren't fun. Finally filled my prescription for the heartburn medicine, so it's been getting better. This boy likes to move! 

Workouts: let's not even talk about this. Brian has started coaching rugby again, which means he doesn't get home until later. I find that I have zero energy by the time Amelia goes to bed, so I'm happy if I get a couple walks in per week with Harley. 

31 weeks
31 weeks 3 days
Other: 
  • had a check up at the maternity clinic, which ended up being super short. Their computer system was down and I didn't have many questions. Heart rate was in the 150s and belly was growing on track.
  • zero progress made on the nursery or Amelia's big girl room (besides buying her a bed frame and some sheets)
  • not any closer to picking a name
  • nothing much else to report!

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Recent reads V2

A couple weeks ago I shared some of the books that I had recently read. I went through another reading frenzy and thought I would share some more with you. The theme this time is thrillers- not sure how that happened. 


No One Knows by J.T Ellison

In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s SecretNew York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.


My rating: 3.5/5
Thoughts: I can't say too much about it, but it definitely had me turning the pages. I definitely did not see the ending coming!




He revved the engine and I held tight with both hands as the bike lurched forward, We zoomed down streets, leaning into the curves, wind whipping over me. I pressed into his back until all I could smell was the leather tang of his jacket, and all I could taste was the sweet thrill of flying away.

Keeping secrets is second nature to Nearly Boswell. Living in a trailer park outside Washington, DC, with a mom who works as an exotic dancer, she knows better than to share anything that would make her a target with her classmates. Only her best friends know about her obsession with the personal ads, and Nearly hasn't told anyone about the emotions she can taste when she brushes against someone's skin.

Then a serial killer goes on a murder spree and starts attacking students, leaving cryptic ads in the newspaper. Nearly might be the one person who can put all the clues together, and if she doesn't figure it out soon - she'll be next.

My rating: 3/5
Thoughts: Not entirely sure I was sold on the whole story line, but it's not bad for a young adult thriller. 




Zoe Whittaker is living a charmed life. She is the beautiful young wife to handsome, charming Wall Street tycoon Henry Whittaker. She is a member of Manhattan’s social elite. She is on the board of one of the city’s most prestigious philanthropic organizations. She has a perfect Tribeca penthouse in the city and a gorgeous lake house in the country. The finest wine, the most up-to-date fashion, and the most luxurious vacations are all at her fingertips.

What no one knows is that five years ago, Zoe’s life was in danger. Back then, Zoe wasn’t Zoe at all. Now her secrets are coming back to haunt her. As the past and present collide, Zoe must decide who she can trust before she—whoever she is—vanishes completely. 

My rating: 3.5/5
Thoughts: Another book where I didn't see the twists and turns, and ending coming! Really liked this one. 


Right Behind You by Lisa Gardner

Is he a hero?

Eight years ago, Sharlah May Nash’s older brother beat their drunken father to death with a baseball bat in order to save both of their lives. Now thirteen years old, Sharlah has finally moved on. About to be adopted by retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his partner, Rainie Conner, Sharlah loves one thing best about her new family: They are all experts on monsters.

Is he a killer?

Then the call comes in. A double murder at a local gas station, followed by reports of an armed suspect shooting his way through the wilds of Oregon. As Quincy and Rainie race to assist, they are forced to confront mounting evidence: The shooter may very well be Sharlah’s older brother, Telly Ray Nash, and it appears his killing spree has only just begun. 

All she knows for sure: He’s back.

As the clock winds down on a massive hunt for Telly, Quincy and Rainie must answer two critical questions: Why after eight years has this young man started killing again? And what does this mean for Sharlah? Once upon a time, Sharlah’s big brother saved her life. Now, she has two questions of her own: Is her brother a hero or a killer? And how much will it cost her new family before they learn the final, shattering truth? Because as Sharlah knows all too well, the biggest danger is the one standing right behind you.


My rating:3.5/5
My thoughts: I didn't realize this was a book in a series with the same characters, but it didn't affect me reading it and not understanding parts of it. I really enjoyed it though!

Tell me: what have you read lately?


Monday, April 3, 2017

From the week and weekend

I kind of got lazy about blogging last week, so I wanted to pick up where I left off in my weekend recap

On Monday, I took Amelia to the day home, so my mom and I could go to IKEA. We were on the hunt for a bedframe for Amelia's big girl bed, and ended up getting this one along with sheets and some other stuff. After IKEA, we went to Chinook mall and then headed home. 

On Tuesday, we went to a parent and tot drop in play time at the community centre in my neighbourhood. They had a bunch of riding toys, balls and blocks that the kids could play with. A stop at the play ground there was a must as well!





Wednesday was a trip to the zoo with Alison + kids and Brie + kids.  The weather was pretty chilly that morning and the zoo was crazy busy thanks to it being March break, but we still had a great time. I think my mom aka Grandma was adopted by the kids after she bought popcorn. 










Thursday was my mom's last fully day here, and I have no idea what we did. Haha I blame it on my terrible memory! I'm sure the day involved walks, playing outside and painting. 

My mom's flight on Friday was just after lunch, so we took her to the airport in the late morning. We were both sad to see her go :( After dropping her off, we stopped at Wal-mart and then headed to Bowness park as Amelia had been asking all morning to go to the park. 




The rest of the day was spent taking Harley for a walk, Amelia napping and another trip to the park near our house. 

Saturday was the day that Brian aka dadda was finally coming home! Amelia and I spent the morning going on an adventure. We went to check out a new park and maybe for the cool mural wall there ;) After the park, we stopped at the library and then headed home. 



We had gone a walk after dinner and Brian got home while we were gone, so Amelia was so excited to come into the house and see him! It was so cute. 

Sunday was a crappy day out (snowing on and off throughout the day), and of course Amelia wanted to go for a walk while it was snowing. We all came home pretty wet, but ah well. She loved it. 


The rest of the day was spent hanging out, doing a workout and sorting through some of Amelia's old clothes to sell.

Tell me: how was your week?

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...